Monday, 22 February 2016

Old Tin Sorrows (fourth novel in the Garrett P.I. series)

(Originally posted on Wednesday, 4 November 2009)

My rating: 10/10 (high re-reading value)
Please read my post from April 2009 to find out about my rating.
Please read my post from May 2009 to learn about Glen Cook’s style of writing.

[Short review]

Old Tin Sorrows is significantly different from any other book in the Garrett series. This novel has an intimate feeling about it. Almost all action takes place in an old countryside estate. Garret spends several days there, trying to solve a case which at first looks very simple. In time he learns more and more about all the men and women living there. During his stay somebody starts killing people. Garrett’s life is also in danger. Moreover the house seems to be haunted by a ghost.

All this elements are only a frame for a tremendously enjoyable, yet very dark story. Many deaths and other creepy things doesn’t make this book a comedy. There is some humour classic to the Garrett series, but not as much as in previous novels. All the rest is as good as in any other Garrett book (see my earlier reviews).

For me Old Tin Sorrows is the best book so far in the Garrett series. It’s perfect.


I rated the first book of the Garrett series a perfect 10/10 and already two of the next three books are considered by me as even better. Unbelievable, isn't it?

No comments:

Post a Comment